FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Winners – World Best Player 2016

The just concluded World Best Player 2015-2016FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Winners have made Lionel Messi the fifth time he has won the award following his earlier four back to back Ballon d’Or titles in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and 2015 respectively Messi, has become the only player in the history of football to have won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award 5 times.

FIFA Ballon d'Or 2015 Winners - World Best Player 2016

Cristiano Ronaldo who finished second in the voting behind Lionel Messi and Neymar, vowed to continue to be at the top level for years to come as he led up to the ceremony in a very happy mode. The Barcelona superstar and the main playmaker of the club Messi, won the 2015/2016 Golden Ball in the FIFA Gala (World Best Player 2015-2016) on Monday 1/11/2015 with amazing votes.

Breakdown of FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Voting Results

Bellow are the breakdown of the 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or voting results based on the percentage of vote each of the contestants recieved

  • Lionel Messi –  41.33 per cent of the total votes.
  • Ronaldo – (27.76%) percent of total votes as second place while
  • Neymar – (7.86%) percent of total votes to take third place.

Lionel Messi scored amazing 52 goals and 26 assists in 61 games for club and country in 2015 – five less than Ronaldo – Messi in 2015 won five trophies which includes Champions League, La Liga and the Spanish Cup with two other trophies and was awarded the top goal scorer and best player in the Champions League, won by the Blaugrana.

The super star admitted that the five times awards of FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Winner is nothing to him compared with world cup in his statement during press interview, he said “I would prefer to win a World Cup rather than five Ballons d’Or if I had to choose, “I have always said that I prefer team achievements and the World Cup is the biggest trophy out there.”

Others in the List of FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Winners are

Below is the full list of winners 2015/2016 FIFA Ballon d’Or award, as announced on Monday night

  • Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer
  • Defenders: Dani Alvez, Sergio Ramos, Thaigo Silva, Marcelo
  • Midfielders: Modric, Iniesta, Paul Pogba
  • Forwards: Neymar, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi
  • Luis Enrique wins FIFA Coach of the Year Award 2015
  • Carli Lloyd wins FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year
  • Wendell Lira wins FIFA Puskas Award “Best Goal Of The Year

Once again congratulations to Lionel Messi for winning his fifth Ballon d’Or award. You can use the comment box bellow to make any contributions regarding the above listed FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015 Winners. Lets hear your view on the vote. Does Lionel Messi Deserve to win the award or Cristiano Ronaldo?

List of Previous FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners and the Year

Bellow are the list of all Ballon d’Or winners since the first award in 1956 when the award was popularly known as world best player of the year, the first person to take the award in 1956 was Stanley Matthews from England.

1956: Stanley Matthews (ENG)
1957: Alfredo Di Stefano (ESP)
1958: Raymond Kopa (FRA)
1959: Alfredo Di Stefano (ESP)
1960: Luis Suarez (ESP)
1961: Omar Sivori (ITA)
1962: Josef Masopust (CZE)
1963: Lev Yachine (USSR)
1964: Denis Law (SCO)
1965: Eusebio (POR)
1966: Bobby Charlton (ENG)
1967: Florian Albert (HUN)
1968: George Best (NIR)
1969: Gianni Rivera (ITA)
1970: Gerd Müller (GER)
1971: Johan Cruyff (NED)
1972: Franz Beckenbauer (GER)
1973: Johan Cruyff (NED)
1974: Johan Cruyff (NED)
1975: Oleg Blokhine (URSS)
1976: Franz Beckenbauer (GER)
1977: Alan Simonsen (DEN)
1978: Kevin Keegan (ENG)
1979: Kevin Keegan (ENG)
1980: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (GER)
1981: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (GER)
1982: Paolo Rossi (ITA)
1983: Michel Platini (FRA)
1984: Michel Platini (FRA)
1985: Michel Platini (FRA)
1986: Igor Belanov (USSR)
1987: Ruud Gullit (NED)
1988: Marco van Basten (NED)
1989: Marco van Basten (NED)
1990: Lothar Matthäus (GER)
1991: Jean-Pierre Papin (FRA)
1992: Marco van Basten (NED)
1993: Roberto Baggio (ITA)
1994: Hristo Stoïchkov (BUL)
1995: George Weah (LBR)
1996: Matthias Sammer (GER)
1997: Ronaldo (BRA)
1998: Zinédine Zidane (FRA)
1999: Rivaldo (BRA)
2000: Luis Figo (POR)
2001: Michael Owen (ENG)
2002: Ronaldo (BRA)
2003: Pavel Nedved (CZE)
2004: Andrei Shevchenko (UKR)
2005: Ronaldinho (BRA)
2006: Fabio Cannavaro (ITA)
2007: Kaka (BRA)
2008: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)
2009: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2010: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2011: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2012: Lionel Messi (ARG)
2013: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)
2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (POR)
2015: Lionel Messi (ARG)

Comments are closed.